Please spare me your Anaconda spam

You can never really avoid email spam…
This is what I got today in my mailbox:

please spare me your spam

I guess it pays to send out email spam otherwise they would not be doing it. How many people actually visits sites like this? Even if I would be interested in the topic I would not click, it´s agains all logic laws…. at least in my world.

I am going to Toronto (perhaps even SES)

So finally I upgraded this blog to WordPress version 2.5… I haven´t touched this site for quite a while so I´m currently doing some work on it.
I noticed that you need both Akismet and Bad Behavior anti spam plugins to actually stop spam, but even then some spam comments manage to sneak in.

So anyway, I am going to visit my brother in Toronto in middle of May sometime. I might even stay until June 18 but I´ll doubt it. The reason for that is that I noticed that there is a Search Engine Strategies event in Toronto June 16-18. I would love to go on one of those events. Here is a link to SES Toronto for anyone interested: SES returns to Toronto.

If you are in to Internet marketing, SEO, or related and live in Toronto I would love to grab a coffee with you or whatever. Apparently Starbucks is a no no and It´s all about Tim Hornton´s.

New Guitar Video – The Borat Theme song – Grooming Pubis

Every now and then you have to do stuff that is totally unlogical and makes no sense what so ever.
Well… This is the result… I recorded a short version of the Borat theme song on guitar…

Watch the Borat theme song on youtube: Borat Theme Song

On Google Video: Borat song – Grooming Pubis

Borat is not dead!

Well ehum, Ok! I gotta get back to my SEO work now :)

Keith Olbermann vs Bill O’Reilly now on Wikipedia

Everyone knows who these guys are right?
In case not they both have shows on TV. Keith Olbermann has his show on MSNBC and Bill O’Reilly’s show is called The O’Reilly Factor which airs on Fox News.

Ok, the only thing that these guys agree on is that they strongly disagree with each other. Not hard to guess that ;) Well… recently both Fox news and NYT has been caught manipulating certain entries over at Wikipedia.

To get the full story read more at Web Pro News: Fox, NYT Play With Wikipedia.

It would be interesting if anyone would research this a bit further. Meanwhile I´ll kick back and watch Keith Olbermann and Bill O´reilly battle each other since it is good entertainment after all.

Long time since I posted here

It was a long time ago since I posted in this blog….. To be honest the weather is to good in Sweden to sit indoors right now, and I also started a few new websites which I have to manage….
But! I will get back to this blog in a while… Because there are a few good things going on in the SEO world right now :) One of them is that I am going to start a SEO forum with a swedish friend but made entirely for /english/american users….

Also! there are some other interesting things to write about when it comes to SEO, so here are a few of the topics that I am interested in and will be writing about this fall….

Coop Ad networkUse it or loose it….
LinkbuildingHow to do it
Black hat SEO - how can it still be easy to spam?
SEO companiesthere are a few…..
AdsenseMake money while you optimize

I also bought myself a new music gear the other day, a Line 6 pod 2.0 :)
It is simply an amplifier for electric guitar that makes a lot of sweet sounds….

Picture of my Line 6 pod 2.0

line 6 pod 2.0

That´s it for now! I will check back here soon again :)

2000 Jeep

I checked my referrer stats and I noticed something a bit unusual… A domain wwwdot2000jeep.com is displaying the exact same content as this domain (marcuswestberg.com)

Strange thing here??? I must be some kind of error at Godaddy.com becasue i noticed that “2000jeep.com” is also registered with Godaddy.com… but even more strange is the Whois info which have been changed since the last time I checked… Here is the current Whois info for 2000jeep.com

Whois Record for 2000jeep.com
Page Information
Website Title: Marcus Westberg – SEO blog, Web Developer
Record Type: Domain Name
Meta Description: A blog about V7ndotcom Elursrebmem and Webdevelopment and lots of other stuff …
Meta Keywords: v7ndotcom, elursrebmem, seo
Server Data
Server Type: Apache
(Spry.com also uses Apache)
IP Address: 216.69.141.60 [Whois] [Ping] [DNS Lookup] [Traceroute]
IP Location: United States – Arizona – Scottsdale – Go Daddy Software Inc
Response Code: 200
Blacklist Status: Clear (history)
SSL Cert: No valid SSL on this Host
Website Status: Active

Registry Data
ICANN Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
Created: 2004-07-29
Expires: 2006-07-29
Registrar Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Name Server: WSC2.JOMAX.NET
Whois Record

Registrant:
WeWebU
8088 Mitchell Dr
Rohnert Park, California 94928
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: 2000JEEP.COM
Created on: 29-Jul-04
Expires on: 29-Jul-06
Last Updated on: 24-Aug-05

Administrative Contact:
Bailey, Bill Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source
WeWebU
8088 Mitchell Dr
Rohnert Park, California 94928
United States
7076641060 Fax — 8017298300

Technical Contact:
Bailey, Bill Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by Whois Source
WeWebU
8088 Mitchell Dr
Rohnert Park, California 94928
United States
7076641060 Fax — 8017298300

Domain servers in listed order:
WSC1.JOMAX.NET
WSC2.JOMAX.NET

Last time I checked the whois it displayed “Alexa websites” as site owner! ?? whatever! Just make it stop ok! :)

no more 2000 jeep ok? ;)

As always I am a bit curious so I also checked what Google´s cache had to say about the 2000 Jeep domain and this was what I got:


2000 Jeep

What a guy!

How long does a SERP update take?

Exciting stuff!

Only 2 weeks before John Scott announces the winner for the V7ndotcom Elursrebmem contest!
The question now is who will win? No one knows the answer for sure and the top 10 sites are all good contestants with a good chance to win!

SEO is not easy at all! and I thought that determing the winner would be easy with one month to go but I changed my mind when I realized the power of 301 redirects! Recently this domain was down because of a webhost rape procedure! but meanwhile i redirected my v7ndotcom contest site to a domain that had the SERP position 10 and it just flew up to number 4!!

If I get my Swedish teammate to partner with my site I strongly believe that SWEDEN will have both 1´st place as well as 2´nd place in this contest!
Not entirely true since I had a lot of help from my friend Steven Hargrove and he is not to be forgotten!
All these small details count at the last two weeks of the contest and I wish all contestans good luck!!!
I have had fun! I hope you also had fun with this V7ndotcom Elursrebmem contest!

Finally the blog is back online

What a waste of time

This blog has been offline for about 2 weeks due to (I would call it) sabotage from an inresponsible webhost admin. The problem is now fixed and this domain has been transfered and is now officially hosted on Godaddy.com which I find is a good host. A lot of people complain on Godaddy.com but I never had any problems with them so far and they have good support so I´ll stick with them.

Google removed some of my pages from this domain from their index but luckily they have not yet removed my SEO contest page: V7ndotcom Elursrebmem contest.

I had to redirect my contest page to my other contest site: V7ndotcom Elursrebmem dot nu during the downtime and because of this the .nu domain ranks at #4! Amazing how much a redirect actually can do.
Before the redirect the .nu was ranked #10 so it was a big jump.

However my main contest site fell down to rank #6-7 but I hope I can get it back up to nr 4 again.
My main goal right now is to stay in the top 5! I have to be realistic, the number one spot is kind of unreachable espacially after beeing offline for 2 weeks.

Depending on how my webhost (the one who disabled my domain without notifying me) is handling the situation from now on I will later decide on what action I will take against them. The least I could do is to WARN!! everyone else about them if they dont answer my questions.
Their support is currently choosing only to answer a few of my questions (the questions they feel is easy to answer) and I honestly have no clue what will happen to the rest of my sites I have hosted there.

There is also another incident with this host that happend about 6 months ago and it is important that I tell everyone about it so no one else would be loosing money that is rightfully theirs!

-

IS THERE SUCH A THING AS A PERFECT HOST?
I guess we will never know